Tiny Deal to good to be true??

Khufu 00:48 05 May 2005

I am new to the PC world and have been buying the various magazines, and reading articles on what it is I want/need.

There is a machine on the tiny website, it comes with a AMD Athlon 64 3400 processor, 1024mb Ram, 400GB hardrive, 16 x DVD RW, and a 19" flat panal, all for £738.00 including delivary based on a 12 month warranty.

I have looked at Mesh and Dell systems, and they dont even seem to get near this type of price for what you are getting?

I just wanted to ask the obvious, wheres the Catch?? or is it Tiny/time that is the catch, or could this be just a great deal??

g0nvs 06:10 05 May 2005

Recovery disc is extra, also Tech Support at £1 a min I believe.

Diodorus Siculus 07:43 05 May 2005

Tin ymake good manchines. They use different means of saving money - delivery charges are in the higher band, the recovery (windows) disk is charged for while many other retailers put it in, tech support is a little higher than others (many charge national rates, not premium rates) - but sell hardware at a reasonable cost.

Their modem used to be (perhaps still is?) "dedicated" ie you can only use it with their ISP, Supanet, unless you unlock / deoptimize it.

Do a search in the box on the left hand side of the screen to see soem thoughts on them.

New Neophyte 10:39 05 May 2005

With TINY there really is no such thing as a free lunch! They would argue the ancillary costs as listed above give the buyer more choice; others think it's an underhand way of charging much the same as everyone else, but appearing to charge less. There's no definitive answer: it's up to the individual to decide for themselves.

Good luck.

NN

Total Care Support 12:58 05 May 2005

Hi Khufu

If you have any questions with regard to the Tiny deal please feel free to drop me an email and I will answer them for you.