HP ZD8303EA Laptop - any opinion please

swapper 15:16 25 Apr 2006

HP ZD8303EA Laptop - any opinion please?

Currys has one of these at £799, I liked the look of this but would appreciate any comments about this model, or HP in general, or even a good equivalent.

tia

[DELETED] 15:57 25 Apr 2006

I have no experience with this machine but you also asked for comments on HP in general. Having worked with various HP divisions around the world for many years, I can honestly say that they are as committed to quality and customer satisfaction as any company I have had dealings with. From that perspective, I don't think you need have any worries about HP.

[DELETED] 18:29 25 Apr 2006

Its a very good laptop. I was in currys the other day and saw a member of staff showing it to some customers.

What is it exactly you would want to use it for?

swapper 07:33 26 Apr 2006

rmcqua, Jimmy14, thank you,
I want a good mid range machine and to be more mobile than I am with my present desktop, I was thinking about a used machine but have been persuaded against it.
The spec that this HP has is bit higher than I need, but the prices seems very good.

[DELETED] 08:48 26 Apr 2006

just make sure it is not one of the 15000 odd they are recalling because of a fault..

[DELETED] 08:51 26 Apr 2006

oh, it is 135000..read here

click here

[DELETED] 10:08 26 Apr 2006

The web site you want for the battery fault is click here I had a quick look and did not see that particular notebook listed, however you can check it for yourself. I have a Pavilion notebook and I am pleased with it. Their customer service is also good, because I have used it in the past. Looking at the spec of the zd8303ea, it seems to be a very good package. If the price is as you say, it is a £100 off the list price. Not bad me thinks. J.B.

swapper 17:17 26 Apr 2006

Ikelos, J B, thank you for responding, I did look at the battery problem and it does not appear to be one that has been recalled.