Epson 2480 scanner and Canon Pixma IP3000 printer

Silverbeard 15:46 05 Jun 2005

Epson 2480 scanner and Canon Pixma IP3000 printer

I have more or less settled on buying these machines. reviews are mostly good and they are nicely priced. In the past I have stuck with Epson printers but lots of jet blockages have persuaded me to try a Canon.

I was going to buy from Pixmania because of their low prices, but having checked on past postings have decided to take my custom elsewhere - but where?

I would welcome comments both on the machines and possible suppliers.

Robert

Arnie 16:10 05 Jun 2005

I can only comment on the Epson 2480 scanner. I have been using mine for about 4 months and I have found it to be excellent. It gives me good quality scans and as a bonus, the film scanner is quite good for general negatives or transparency frame scans.

As an aside, I am also using a recently purchased Epson C66 printer. Although a little slow, it too gives high quality printing with good photo printing. Considering it is not technically a true photo printer, I have test printed on good quality standard typists' paper. I was very pleased with the results. Far better than the Stylus 880 which it replaced, now happily being used by a friend.

Silverbeard 16:28 05 Jun 2005

Thanks for your comments, Arnie. Glad you like the scanner. The transparency scan was one of the reasons for my choice - I have a quantity of 40-50 year old slides to scan in.

Robert

Hamish 16:43 05 Jun 2005

Canon IP3000 Colour Bubble Jet Printer at click here for £65.99. Do not know how that compares with thev prices you already have

pj123 19:09 05 Jun 2005

For the scanner check out click here

Looks the same as my 3170 scanner, which I can't fault.

For the printer check out

click here

I don't have a Canon printer myself but the replacement ink cartridges are a good price from click here

Border Collie 01:29 06 Jun 2005