Hot Topics

Making the Switch from Windows to Mac

GhulamAfzal11 22:41 24 Mar 2020
Answered

Hey everyone,

Firstly I hope you are all keeping safe and well amidst the Coronavirus outbreak. Please stay at home.

I currently have a Windows PC which is running Intel i& 6700 CPU overclocked at 4.00GHZ with 32GB RAM running with the AMD Radeon RX 480. I'm a wedding photographer/videographer and I'm hating how Adobe is making us pay monthly for Premier,Lightroom and Photoshop. Using all 3 is expensive however, my main issue is how a lot of my friends and people I follow on youtube use Final Cut Pro.

They say it works a lot better in terms of workflow and is a lot faster, my PC can play games at high resolution yet Premiere can still crash and have bugs etc.

I am wanting to make the switch to Mac OS but I have a dilemma. Do I purchase an older basic iMac 5K model such as the 2017 version and then upgrade the CPU and RAM rather than paying loads through apple. Or is it worth getting an older Macbook pro (similar year or 2015) and using that solely for my video editing and keeping my Windows setup?

Many thanks!

HondaMan 14:24 25 Mar 2020

Hopefully, it's a "welcome to the club". I have been using Macs of one sort or another for 6 years. Whilst some people heap praises on them, they do have restrictions, such as a shortage of software, made more apparent by the latest software,Catalina, which broadly speaking does away with all 32-bit applications.

If you object to Adobe's charges, think about the Affinity Suite by Serif here.

Pine Man 15:24 25 Mar 2020
Answer

I changed from Windows to Macs about six years ago as well. I have never looked back and always been able to find the sort of software I need.

My needs for photographic manipulation are not so onerous as years and I have been using Photoshop Elements in different guises for about 7 to 8 years on PC and Mac without an issue.