Looking to purchase an iMac

Tilly Gibbs 12:06 03 Aug 2018
Answered

Hello everyone I’m looking to purchase an iMac but I have a bit of a budget and the new models are not within that. I’m wondering if anatomy could be me Iv been looking at the iMac 2013 and the 2015.. I’ve heard you can upgrade parts such as the ram etc any information would be great on upgrading parts too and where to get these things done I live in the uk. Also if I was to purchase of 2013 or 2015 model And upgrade certain parts would it be worth it? I’m a hobbyist photographer and would like to use it for programs such as lightroom and photoshop, I decided to go for Apple as I have an iPhone and iPad and then all my devices would be connected for when on the go. Thank you

bremner 17:19 03 Aug 2018

Upgrading RAM is very simple on an iMac - a screw under the centre of the screen. Everything else is not for the faint hearted - you have to remove the screen for starters.

Crucial.com is a great place to buy Ram but you will have to check if they deliver in your country, even if they don’t run their scanning tool and it will tell you what you need.

I have a 2015 iMac and it would easily do what you require.

wee eddie 18:59 03 Aug 2018

Bare in mind that Apple do the same as Microsoft when it comes to past OSs.

They stop providing protective updates. Mac's are pretty safe but not completely so.

bremner 19:24 03 Aug 2018

Your 2013-2015 will comfortably run High Sierra and the soon to be released Mojave so updates will not be a problem in the slightest.

I would recommend an anti-virus, AVG for MAC is free and reliable.

HondaMan 21:30 03 Aug 2018

Remember that the RAM on the 21 inch iMac is not upgradeable and that Apple charge the earth. Virtually everything else is non-upgradeable by the user, so make your choice carefully.