can't find 52.77 GB of pics

BailieJo 16:41 20 May 2019

2011 MacBook Pro El Capitan 10.11.6 has started buffering when using Facebook/Internet. I cleared cache, deleted all photos except a few recent ones to create more storage. Right now I have 142.79 GB free of 238.83 GB. Under apple icon, storage, it indicates I have 52.77 GB of pics. They are not in iPhoto or in "All my files". I searched for all files with .jpg and deleted old photos. I'm at a loss. I have no idea where these 52.77 GB of photos could be. Any help would be appreciated for finding photos and the buffering problem. I do have Norton installed - could that be a problem. If so, it just started and I've been using Norton for 5 months. Thanks

bremner 17:43 20 May 2019

You haven’t said you have done so but have you emptied trash

BailieJo 17:52 20 May 2019

Sorry for forgetting that, however, Yes, have emptied trash. I did search for other photo extensions and I seem to have quite a few that were added when computer was first created such as TIFF, PNG and GIG. They are not my files and I'm sure they wouldn't make up 52.77 GB of storage.

bremner 21:33 20 May 2019

How big is your Photo or iPhoto library file? And where is it located?

bremner 21:44 20 May 2019

The report from Storage is notoriously buggy.

Download Omnidisksweeper and compare the results against Storage. click here

BailieJo 13:35 21 May 2019