A stripped-down version of Windows 10 thought to be called Windows Cloud or Windows 10S is expected to be announced this afternoon at the MicrosoftEdu press conference. Also exciting is the hardware that is expected to launch alongside it, with a new low-cost Surface laptop potentially called the Surface CloudBook tipped for today's event. Here are the details you need:

MicrosoftEdu press conference details

Date: Tuesday 2 May 2017

Time: 2.30pm GMT (9:30am ET; 6:30am PT; 11:30pm AEST)

Live stream: Embedded at the top of this page. Also available at microsoft.com/microsoft-event-may-2017

MicrosoftEdu press conference

What do we hope to see?

Windows Cloud (aka Windows 10S)

Windows Cloud is a lighter version of Windows 10 that is expected to be used for ultra-low-cost laptops. Although it is likely to be a Chrome OS rival, it is unlikely to be an entirely online operating system.

The name has not yet been confirmed, and only this morning we heard news that it might be called Windows 10S rather than the long-rumoured Windows Cloud.

You can read more details about Windows Cloud here.

Surface 4 (aka Surface CloudBook)

If you're launching a new operating system, you need some hardware to show it off on. 

Microsoft's low-cost Surface computer hasn't been updated since March 2015, and it's possible that the Surface 3 may be replaced not with a Surface 4 but a new Windows Cloud-based Surface laptop, perhaps known as the Surface CloudBook.

Well-known leakster @evleaks offered several images of 'Windows 10S' running on a new Surface computer earlier today, including the image shown below.

Microsoft Surface CloudBook

You can read more details about the Microsoft Surface 4/CloudBook here.

Read next: Windows 10 - the verdict

Follow Marie Black on Twitter.