As with most big sporting events, you can watch the Tour de France 2016 live on a range of devices including smartphones and tablets. Here's how to stream Tour de France online live. Also find out the Tour de France 2016 teams and TV schedule. See also: How to watch Wimbledon 2016 live online.

In the UK, the Tour de France 2016 is being broadcast live by ITV and Eurosport, so you can also watch live coverage online. You can find the broadcaster for your region on the official Tour de France site by selecting the option from the tab at the bottom. 

Tour de France 2016: how to watch online

All live coverage and highlights will be shown on ITV4 which means you can't use services like TVCatup to watch it online. However, you can watch the channel live in your web browser by simply going to itv.com/itvplayer/itv4.

The ITV Player is also available on various other devices and platforms including iOS, Android, Windows Phone, PlayStation, YouView, Roku, Now TV and more. See the full list here. Whatever device you're trying to watch the Tour de France on, make sure you've got the ITV Player app and an internet connection and away you go with live coverage or on catch-up.

With Eurosport, you need to pay a monthly (£6.99) or yearly (£4.99 per month) subscription to access the official site, http://www.eurosportplayer.co.uk/

Eurosport is offering a lot more live coverage than ITV, so dedicated Tour de France fans might want to pay £6.99 for a month's subscription.

Below we've listed the TV coverage schedule so you know when to tune in for live streaming.

Tour de France 2016 teams

See the below image for an overview of all the teams competing in the Tour de France 2016 including BMC Racing Team, Team Sky, Team Giant and FDJ.

Tour de France 2016 teams

Tour de France 2016 TV coverage stage schedule

Having the ITV Player app is one thing, but you'll also need to know when to tune in for live coverage. Below we've listed the entire TV coverage schedule for the Tour de France 2016. These are BST - British Summer Time - times, of course.

Saturday 2 July

ITV 4: 11am-4.30pm
Eurosport 1: 11.45am-4.15pm

Sunday 3 July

ITV 4: 2pm-4.30pm
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.15pm

Monday 4 July

ITV 4: 2pm-4.30pm
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.45pm

Tuesday 5 July

ITV 4: 2pm-4.30pm
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.45pm

Wednesday 6 July

ITV 4: 2pm-4.30pm
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.45pm

Thursday 7 July

ITV 4: 2pm-4.30pm
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.45pm

Friday 8 July

ITV 4: 2pm-4.30pm
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.45pm

Saturday 9 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.45pm

Sunday 10 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 10.45am-4.30pm

Monday 11 July

Rest Day

Tuesday 12 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 12.45pm-4.45pm

Wednesday 13 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 12.45pm-4.45pm

Thursday 14 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 12.45pm-4.45pm

Friday 15 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 12.45pm-4.45pm

Saturday 16 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 12.45pm-4.45pm

Sunday 17 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 10.45am-4.45pm

Monday 18 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.30pm

Tuesday 19 July

Rest day

Wednesday 20 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 12.45pm-4.45pm

Thursday 21 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 11am-4.45pm

Friday 22 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 10.45am-4.45pm

Saturday 23 July

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 10.45am-4.45pm

Sunday 24 July

Final stage

ITV 4: TBC
Eurosport 1: 3pm-7pm