Win8 Start Button Missing on Lenovo G700

Alex at Langar 17:16 29 Dec 2013

getting VERY fed up. Can't find stuff on windows 8 on our lenovo g700 laptop. Even bought "Windows 8.1 for Seniors" by Michael Price yesterday, at a cost of £10 to try and get on, but everything from that book we try is not reflected on the laptop, so we fall at the first hurdle every time.

Just to be clear, I am a retired teacher, been using computers for over 30 years, so am a very confident and experienced computer user - I'm to to uch-typing this, for example, but I still can't get anywhere with this Lenovo/Wiindows 8 combination. Again, to be clear, we are completely new to Win 8, (but have progressed through XP, Vista and Win7. Yes I know that Win 8 takes things in a totally new direction, (largely due to Microsoft's desire to cash in on the tablet/touch-screen market), but so far we are finding 8 very, very user-unfriendly.

Page 11 of the above book says "Which Release is Installed?". Seemed sensible to check that first. It says " Press WinKey + Break key or right click the Start button and click System to display the Properties" NOPE TO ALL OF THAT!!!!!!!!! The WinKey + Break is either ignored or, if in the Start screen just scrolls the screen sideways. on So use the Start button, right? Where? No sign of it at bottom left of task bar or anywhere else.

Page 23, (and others), of this book clearly illustrate the start icon at bottom left on the taskbar, but it's not there on this machine. No we haven't messed with the start-up settings. The laptop was a Christmas present for my wife. So it was only powered up for the first time two days ago. Help.

Alex at Langar 15:12 30 Dec 2013

Hi Jockie1e and Lazarus The Second, Thank you both very much for responding so quickly and for your help, much appreciated.