Printer Sharing - Win 7 64Bit & Vista 32Bit

Sibbo 20:23 07 Jan 2010

I have a Canon iP4500 printer wired directly to a Windows 7 64 Bit desktop PC, and wish to share the printer with a Laptop that is running Windows Vista 32 Bit. Each time I try to get it to work I run into various problems. I've even tried installing the relevant drivers onto both machines, but still it will not work. Both machines reject the others drivers due to the different acchitecture. Although I've shared my Internet connection before with no problems, this is my first attempt at printer sharing. What am I doing wrong? Thanks

Sibbo 17:02 08 Jan 2010

Anyone have any idea please? This problem is doing my head in lol. Thanks

chub_tor 18:50 08 Jan 2010

Take a look at this click here

Sibbo 20:04 08 Jan 2010

Thanks, but I have a problem that crops up with that procedure. The part where it states:

" Then when it asks if you want to update or uninstall, click cancel.
AND
Now, you need to find the folder that driver was extracted to. Open Run (Win+R), and type in “C:\Users\your user name\appdata\local\temp”.

I'm not getting the first message, and because I am trying to install the 32 bit drivers onto the 64bit desktop (host PC), I receive an error along the lines of "incorrect driver......", which means that the install procedure stops, and the install is rolled back, so no files are in the temp directory.

chub_tor 14:29 09 Jan 2010

If that procedure doesn't work then I'm sorry but I can't help any more, it's not something that I have ever tried to do and got the procedure by Googling your problem. Perhaps bumping this back up again someone else may have a solution for you. Good luck and if you manage to solve it please post how as I am sure that others must have a similar problem.

james105051 18:24 12 Jan 2010