Printer runtime error

Guineveres 16:41 23 Jul 2007

I'm almost a "silver surfer," all self taught & struggling with Vista.
Got new laptop with Vista Home Premium on it.
My printer is only a few months old, since getting this new laptop it was working up to a point, then printing with thick black lines where the print should be, then nothing. I've downloaded new Vista drivers from Lexmark site & have tried to find "allow command" on Vista. I don't understand the run thing although I can access it from Windows key plus R. Whatever I put in the "open" box doesn't get me any further.
When I open my printer prog I get the message -
Runtime Error! This application has requested the runtime to terminate in an unusual way.
I've tinkered with System Config. but don't know what I'm doing! The Application Layer Gateway Service has "stopped" by it, is this something that needs attention?
I'm in a mess here right....a big thank you if you take the time to help.

brundle 17:27 23 Jul 2007

You forgot to say what model printer you have, Lexmark what?

Guineveres 17:35 23 Jul 2007

Hi, my printer is a Lexmark X5470.

brundle 17:58 23 Jul 2007

Not much luck via Google, a complete scan with antivirus and antispyware won't do any harm.
Uninstall printer software, give your temp files and registry a clean up with Ccleaner (use the Issues button to clean registry, make a backup of changes)
click here, reboot, re-install printer.

What is it that you need to do using the Run command?

Guineveres 19:07 23 Jul 2007

Forgive my ignorance. I thought I had to use Run command in some way to make Vista allow the new printer drivers to operate. I guess as my experience of Vista has shown me that nothing just happens without an authority, is there an "allow" command of some sort?
In the Problem Reports log there are listed as "stopped" AIOC exe & Broderbund Premium Print Application, amongst other things, but these relate to my printer, yes/no?

brundle 20:25 23 Jul 2007