Microsoft Malicious software removal tool

vass289 19:49 21 Nov 2013
Answered

Hi,

I have been running Windows 8 for about 10 months now on a new laptop. For the past week or so The user account control has started popping up on start up asking if Microsoft Malicious software removal tool can make changes to my computer. This is new so i have denied it while i look into it. I discovered that there is a virus version of it, although the description of that is different from my scenario.

Anyway, I ran the removal tool manually via run (mrt) thinking if it was a ligit request then running manually myself would satisfy the request but on restart the user account request popped up again.

It seems it will do it every time but before i agree to allow it make changes but i am apprehensive.

Can anyone confirm if it is a legitimate request or should i be taking some other action?

Thanks for any help you can offer!!

Secret-Squirrel 09:32 22 Nov 2013

That doesn't sound right at all. The legitimate removal tool usually runs when Windows Updates are being installed and doesn't normally display a UAC message.

I recommend you scan your PC with the free version of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware - you can get it from here. Note: towards the end of the installation of MBAM make sure you untick the option to start the free trial of the professional (paid-for) version.

vass289 10:41 23 Nov 2013

Thanks Secret-Squirrel,

I ran the program and it found and removed 107 objects. I recognised a lot as browser extensions etc. Not sure what most were. I re-started when prompted but unfortunately user account control popped up again asking to make changes on behalf of windows malware removal tool!

I appreciate your help regardless! Im sure that helped my system in other ways! :)

Secret-Squirrel 14:44 23 Nov 2013
Answer

"I ran the program and it found and removed 107 objects.................unfortunately user account control popped up again"