Installing XP over Vista preinstall...SATA problem

barrakus 20:40 22 Feb 2008

I tried today to install XP Home Edition over my preinstalled Vista...resulting in no HD found. |I know the problem is that the drivers for the SATA HD are not found in the XP Home installation disk and therefore it can't recognize that the SATA is there.

How can I over come this problem? I have an upgrade disk for XP Pro, but not a complete installation disk...I thought I would simply upgrade to XP then log on to driveragent, scan the computer and download the necessary new drivers for XP on this 'puter.

I also read in another thread, possibly in this forum, that if the SATA boot was in the BIOS then you could do without the drivers for the install. Is it possible to PUT the SATA boot into the BIOS? I no I'm a noob and these questions are probably ridiculous, but I have to ask just in case they're not.

helen_312 20:57 22 Feb 2008

'.I thought I would simply upgrade to XP'

You cannot upgrade to XP from Vista. It is impossible.

lisa02 20:57 22 Feb 2008

Will an upgrade disk for XP allow for an install over Vista?

Try going to your manufacturer's site for SATA drivers prior to install and then load them.

What's your beef with Vista apart from IE7 issues?

lisa02 20:59 22 Feb 2008

helen_312 thanks - that confirmed what I expected. It mkes sense Vista to XP is in fact a downgrade not an upgrade.

barrakus 21:54 22 Feb 2008

i mis-typed...i meant that i was going to Install XP Home...Upgrade to XP Pro...then go to driveragent and scan/download what I needed...I know that technically Vista to XP is a downgrade, but that's not what I was trying to say....(and is it REALLY a downgrade? Not according to most of these threadfs it's not. ;) )

Any way my beef with Vista is that I can't play my favorite online game because the stupid thing can't be made compatible to most game sites...or other software for that matter...until Microsoft releases their stinking sourcecode. :?