How to resurrect a ruined installation of Vista?

Diemmess 10:29 09 Sep 2008

I have a friend who is an expert in his own field but knows little about computers.
He has a Medion desktop (Ex Aldi) with Vista home premium.

He telephoned me and said:
[All worked well for a while, updates installed as they came, until SP1 was installed.]

At this point the computer now boots for a short period but as soon as any attempt is made to explore the desktop or go online the PC freezes, loses all key/mouse control and has to be switched off.

I think he achieved some recovery by uninstalling SP1 and updates, but whatever he did or didn't do and that included re-stalling SP1, he is in a mess now.

He says he can boot and run in safe mode, but can do almost nothing in safe mode.

I have zero experience of Vista.

Please, some (single sentence) suggestions for methods he might try to to recover this damaged OS.

At this stage, please keep suggestions simple, because I am not going to pay him a visit and any advice will have to be passed to him by phone!

anskyber 11:38 09 Sep 2008

He could try a Startup repair.
Start up repair Vista with the Vista DVD.
click here

Without the disc and If Startup Repair is a preinstalled recovery option on your computer.

click here

Then expand the section "how do I use Startup Repair?"

Most PCs have a reset to factory settings feature but that would involve obliterating any later installed programs and data loss without back up.

cream. 13:35 09 Sep 2008

system restore in safe mode? click here

Diemmess 18:06 10 Sep 2008

I saw him this am and handed him a printout of this thread plus one or two ideas of my own including how to join this forum!

Email out of the blue about 10 mins ago saying it was sorted after he followed cream's idea of using system restore in safe mode.
He says it all seems to run well again.
He chose eldest restore point (5 Days ago) and has been able to back up precious data.

Thank you both.

cream. 17:48 11 Sep 2008