How much ram for Vista??

RobCharles1981 22:24 04 Jun 2008

Hi

I'm planning on installing Vista Ultimate 64 bit, I'm on XP using 2gig of DDR2 6400 Ram, will this be enough to run vista I do play games too?

Cheers

Rob

Forum Editor 00:08 05 Jun 2008

in 2Gb of RAM - it's doing so on all my office machines.

I'm no gaming expert, so you'll need to rely on someone else for that part of the answer.

RobCharles1981 00:22 05 Jun 2008

Thanks FE for the feedback, I await any different oppinons in this....

Jayseph 01:19 05 Jun 2008

I'm not completely sure.

But as far as i know. XP as a 32bit OS can address 2.3 gigs of ram maximum.

Your suped up 64 bit OS would probably be able to address much much more.

I'm currently on a laptop with a 64bit vista OS and 2 gigs of ram... I CAN NOT ACTUALLY use this for gaming...

Admittedly my graphics processor in this is a bit shoddy. but i game a fair bit... Vista itself takes up alot of ram.

And most LARGE games... like MMORPGs (world of warcraft, lord of the rings online) require RAM more than graphics as the skins are quitre simple so the graphics card doesnt have to be amazing by any stretch, if your into mmo rpgs.

ofcourse if its like games that require heavy graphics like gears of war or something like that then focus more on graphics cards than ram

If you can upgrade your ram to 3 or 4 gigs without it costing too much it would optimize your gaming experience. but, for example, i play WoW... i tried to play it on my laptop once or twice. i got roughly 5 frames per second. which is shocking.

wheras it runs smoothly on my PC with more ram than addressable by my OS.

i'm not sure if that all made sense to you (my appologies if it doesnt... it's pretty late at night)

im not even sure if its all 100% correct. i'm no whiz :)

Jayseph 01:23 05 Jun 2008

may be 3.2GB of ram maximum for 32 bit....

not sure. check with someone who is :D

As i said... late at night... get my numbers a bit higgeldy piggeldy