Can't install Vista Home Prem OEM on built pc

RicDon 14:04 09 Jul 2007

I’m new to this world so apologies if this is very long or I am using terminology incorrectly but I really would welcome any help anyone can offer, anyone…. Having never done anything like this before I decide to build a computer (because I had read it was easy!). Well, job done and not too hard and very rewarding – spec as below:

Gigabyte 965P-DS3 (v3.3) Skt 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E4300
Corsair 2x 1gb xms-6400 240dimm ram
Hitachi 320gb HDIDE which I am using a sata cable to attach to mobo
NVIDIA GForce 7600 512MB graphics card
Logitech cordless mouse and keyboard (I had read this may be a problem but I can use the keyboard all the way through the below)

I loaded XP SP1 from my dell laptop from the disk that came with it to see if it really did work, and yes it did/does (I didn’t enter key as understand and accept need for new os etc etc). Feeling very good about it all I decided to purchased Vista 32bit Home Premium OEM (instead of staying with XP) and here my success and confidence truly stop.

I insert the Vista CD, make sure bios is set to load from CD (as I did with the XP dry run). The machine sees the CD and we are off. I choose language for keyboard at the first screen, input key (I have also tried not inputting the key) click on Home Premium Install.

Given it is OEM version it is going to install clean which is fine. At the next screen it sees my hard drive (so am assuming this is not a driver issue with the HDD which I have now read so much about) so I click install

It then goes through the screen expanding, copying windows files etc.(gets all the way to 100) This whole process is surprisingly quick (10/15 mins vis XP which took about 45mins).