Young Driver car insurance

wids001 08:09 14 Jul 2010

My son, 17, has just passed his test. I checked the comparison websites for insurance quotes and the cheapest was Elephant.co.uk at £3070.00 (TPFT). He aleady has a car which he owns and will be the main driver. This info was given to the insurance company.

My wife phoned them and managed to get this down to £2400.00 for 10 months insurance afterwhich he may get 1 years no claims discount.

However, she then asked if it would be cheaper if she was put on as a 2nd named driver on his insurance(she owns a car). The price came down to £1900.00! Then she asked if I went on there as a third named driver what it would be(I am a named driver on my wifes policy but have no insurance of my own, driving a company supplied van to and from work). I was amazed that this further reduced the insurance down to £1770.00 - a saving of £1300.00 on the original on-line quote.

My question is, are there any implications to my wifes insurance(which is with another company) should my son have an accident. Also, although down as named drivers neither my wife nor I will ever drive the car.

MAT ALAN 08:39 14 Jul 2010

click here

info here...

Quickbeam 09:07 14 Jul 2010

There is one insurance company advertising that a named driver can accumulate a no claims bonus.

I can't for the life of me remember which one as it wasn't of any interest to me other than hearing the ad, but it is one of the major insurers.

Quickbeam 09:20 14 Jul 2010

click here But you would still have to use the car yourself for it to be legal.

john 52 09:45 14 Jul 2010

Has your son considered doing a pass plus course which would give him extra NCD on his insurance !!
I am not suggesting that you would do this but fronting by a parent on car insurance policy would lead to a claim to be rejected and insurance companies are coming down on this !!