TV Advertising

rawprawn 19:37 30 Mar 2008

How are companies such DFS and many other furniture companies able to offer continual sales? I thought that to offer something in a sale retailers were obliged to have the item on sale at a regular price for X number of weeks beforehand. However whenever I turn on ITV there are always sales on at these companies.
WE don't have Sky and we can't get Freeview where I live, is it the same on digital TV?

anskyber 19:43 30 Mar 2008

They do, in a way.

First its a Sale, then its full price but with 50% off then its two for the price of one. So it is advertised at the full price but with incentives, not sales.

rawprawn 19:44 30 Mar 2008

PS. They usually say "Everything" at half price not just specific items.

rawprawn 19:45 30 Mar 2008

Is there a legal difference?

anskyber 19:52 30 Mar 2008

Well I am no lawyer on these matters but given the widespread use of these tactics by a number of retailers I would have thought Trading Standards would have acted by now for their own local stores if it was not.

Forum Editor 20:03 30 Mar 2008

says that where a 'previous price' is shown on a discounted item the previous price should be the last price at which the product was available to consumers in the previous 6 months.

The product should have been available at that price for at least 28 consecutive days in the previous 6 months; and it should be in the same shop where the reduced price is now being offered.
Any deviation to this must be pointed out in a
fair, understandable and clear way. For
example, a sign saying 'goods on sale here at
higher price 1st to 26th February' or 'goods on
sale at higher price in only 10 of our 59 stores'.

A retailer should not use general disclaimers, for
example 'higher prices have not necessarily