Staff Christmas Party

DANZIG 06:16 09 Dec 2008

Hi.

Its our Staff Christmas Party this Thursday night and was just wondering if anyone else's goes roughly the same. I've been working for the company for 15 years now and they generally follow the same pattern / have the same ingredients...

1 - Always about 5 people who loathe the place the thing is held in (but still turn up).
2 - At least 1 person who turns up already totally drunk.
3 - At least 1 person who leaves VERY early, for the same reason as (1), or that the music is rubbish.
4 - At least one person gets very tired and emotional and bursts into tears.
5 - 1 person expresses their undying love for another. (normally connected with (4) and sometimes (2) )
6 - Someone is always and I mean ALWAYS sick.
7 - There is a fight.
8 - The boss trys to make a motivational Christmas speech when everyone is too drunk to care or take it seriously.
9 - Someone always phones in sick the next day, although mysteriously its NEVER with a hangover...

Just thought I'd ask and find out if we're unique or not.....

Quickbeam 07:20 09 Dec 2008

That's the standard pattern for all engagement/wedding/birthday/christening/whatever parties.They wouldn't be any good without those party essentials that you mention... what would you talk about the week after;)

carver 07:55 09 Dec 2008

As Quickbeam says, pretty standard format for a party apart from No9 which is your bosses fault( stupid person to have it mid week)

interzone55 08:54 09 Dec 2008

I avoid Christmas parties like the plague, mainly for all the points mentioned above.

I'm not going to get called boring this year because our company have pulled all funding for christmas parties due to general belt tightening...

jack 09:07 09 Dec 2008

As a sales person in addition to the 'Office Party' many clients extended invites too - not so much in the embrace of friendship as more likely in 'What will you bring me as a reward' frame of mind