Snowploughs Only Move Snow But.....What If?????

Big L 266 20:26 01 Dec 2010

Hello.

I'm not the brightest bulb in the ceiling at times as this thread will prove,but I was watching these many fine people at Gatport Airwick doing their level best to try and get the runways clear today.It was clearly hard going as no matter what they tried didn't work.

Now I'm not a mechanic, engineer, designer nor do I claim to be, but would not a better way be to 'hoover' up the snow and superheat it and turn it to steam to evaporate harmlessly into the atmosphere? That way the snow itself is removed and not simply recited, and another gritter could follow it laying appropriate sticky material to allow proper traction. If it works on tarmac, would it not work on roads and railways as well?

It seems a simple idea, but as I'm sure I'm about to find out, the more knowledgable amongst you will tell me otherwise.

Just a thought though....

Big L 266

Big L 266 20:30 01 Dec 2010

I see I wrote 'recited' instead of 'relocated'. I do apologise for my incorrect wording.

morddwyd 20:46 01 Dec 2010

When evaporated into the atmosphere it would immediately freeze and fall back to earth as ice, leaving the runway nice and glassy.

OTT_B 21:12 01 Dec 2010

I'm interested to know what the "appropriate sticky material" would be.

Contact adhesive?

tullie 21:15 01 Dec 2010

Dont forget that they cant use anything on the runway that might be sucked into the engines.

Big L 266 21:18 01 Dec 2010

Hello.

OTT_B....Yes....fibro fog struck again!

tullie....Indeed but hopefully evaporation would occur with the engines well away from the machinery.

morddwyd....I told you I wasn't the brightest bulb in the ceiling!

Big L 266

Paddy 23:37 01 Dec 2010

I well remember during my RAF days, whilst stationed in North Germany (Sylt) we used a Vampire jet, which has an exhaust which is very low to the ground, to run up and down the runway and melt the snow, worked a treat.