Roof repair cost/quote, is it fair?

rickf 16:15 19 May 2017

I have a leak in the roof of my extended kitchen. The roof area (my part as it's a semi-detached house) is approximately 11'x10'=110 sq. ft. Its a slopping tiled roof. The whole thing has to be taken out, batens replaced where needed, new sheet laid over and tiles put back and replaced with new ones if needed. The flashing needs minor adjustment but not replaced. Quoted £1300. 2 men job maybe 2 days. Is it a good quote? Any thoughts appreciated as I have no experience of roof repair costs.Thanks in advance.

wee eddie 16:25 19 May 2017

Get another quote then.

oresome 16:28 19 May 2017

Ignoring any material costs, it works out at around £40 per man-hour which I would have thought was reasonable.

However, I'd be surprised if it actually takes 2 men 2 days to complete and think it could be completed in a day.

Getting three quotes is the way to establish a fair price.

rickf 16:37 19 May 2017

It requires some cementing as well. He recommended that once laid the roof be painted over with a rubberised paint. It's likely that all the batens will have to be replaced and a new felt laid over. Will see about getting more quotes but I have only found this roofer after 3 days of searching. It seems either there are not many of them around or so busy that they couldn't be bothered. Went through rated people online site.

oresome 16:40 19 May 2017

It's now sounding dodgy with the rubberised paint!

Border View 17:03 19 May 2017

Without a doubt get alternative quotes.

Burn-it 17:57 19 May 2017

Always more quotes. And out of principle you should not accept other names from the current quoter, but find names yourself from a local paper or such to prevent nepotism.

bumpkin 20:40 19 May 2017