Open University

spikeychris 19:38 10 Jul 2005

Hello.

Has any member undertaken an OU course and followed it through? I'm mid way and it's hard work - someone once told me the hardest thing about getting a degree [I don't have one] is managing your time and resources. He was so right. Aaanyway back to the question - Have you followed an on-line OU course all the way?

Chris

bremner 19:52 10 Jul 2005

Been doing OU for a number of years - some courses can be a real drag and others very interesting and seem to fly by.

Which one(s) are you doing.

spikeychris 20:00 10 Jul 2005

BA/BSc Honours Computing and Mathematical Sciences.

Forum Editor 20:10 10 Jul 2005

managing your time and resources is the hardest part.

I got my degree (English) the easy way - at a university where there was every opportunity to study, and I wasn't trying to earen a living at the same time. Later on I decided to do another degree with the OU - this time I chose geology - and it was a nightmare. I began to think that I would never have any free time ever again, and I had to give up before the end - something I deeply regretted. I had a young family, and I was building my business etc., etc.

You've taken on a real task, and I wish you the very best with it. The fact that you're halfway is a good sign - it's very slightly downhill from now on.

bremner 21:04 10 Jul 2005

Me too.

I am just beyond half way and I am doing T209 at present. I would not recommend that to my worst enemy!

spikeychris 21:51 10 Jul 2005

To manage my time would be hard enough if I was an orgainised person but I am anything but. The work is hard but not as hard as having to actually fit it in!!

I tend to just put it off until tomorrow and then do the same again. I then spend the entire weekend locked up trying to get it all done.