Light bulbs

carver 08:24 09 Mar 2009

I know that every now and again people have commented about energy saving bulbs and how they don't like them, well try these
click here

click here

They are an alternative to "normal" energy saving bulbs, difference being you get instant light and a more natural light.

I've been using them for a couple of months and they are the same as any ordinary bulb only cheaper to run and you don't have to wait for them to warm up.

Quickbeam 08:47 09 Mar 2009

Since January, we've been reduced to using these on 5 occasions click here :) Maybe living the retro feel of the '70s will be a regular thing this year:(

anchor 08:51 09 Mar 2009

I have not seen one of these bulbs working, so cannot comment on the type of light. However, they are certainly more expensive to buy, so surely this would cancel out any saving in power costs.

MaxUpload 13:25 09 Mar 2009

One of the local electrical wholesalers had a promotion on halogen lamps recently.

Their blurb included the usual "save energy/save money" stuff so I had a look.

My wife is a keen Ikea shopper so the majority of our table lamps are screw fitting - click here - fitted the bill nicely.

I bought ten of these lamps admittedly not quite as cheap as those in my link but close.

I suppose you have to look a little deeper into the claims of energy/cost saving.

The lamps I bought were the 28w flavour giving an equivalent output of 40w when compared with a standard tungsten lamp hence an energy saving of some 30%.

Simple mathematics would show that if this lamp were burned at an average of say five hours a day then it would take only six months to pay for itself.Multiply that by the six we have in regular use and I suppose the savings would be noticeable.

But there again the difficulties as always arise when you look at installing them in standard light fittings and the problem of finding and installing screw type fittings to accommodate them.

T0SH 14:41 09 Mar 2009