If work is so great

SG Atlantis® 18:45 31 Aug 2006

why do they have to pay you to do it.

I have been called lazy and selfish because I'd jump ship to another employer who offered more money without a second thought. That I didn't care I was leaving my current employer short staffed (I served my notice) and he pleaded with me to stay.

I'm a hard worker with a family to support, why shouldn't I jump ship for more money?

Also because I said....

You do your work and get paid, you owe your employer nothing else.

and that employers buy your labour they don't buy you.

Apparently my attitude is making Britain a laughing stock, but, wait there's more - my attitude is becoming more prevalent in Britain.

Why is that?

ulrich 18:58 31 Aug 2006

I went through a bit of a rough period, and I packed in my job with the present employer twice, but he would not accept it. I am a 59yr old apprentice doing something I've never done before, he has kept his faith in me so I will pay him back in anyway I can. I could do with more money{single parent}, trust is more important.

Forum Editor 19:01 31 Aug 2006

I'm not sure.

I was the person who made all those disparaging remarks (you already know that, but others might not), and I made them because I felt your attitude encapsulated a lot of what's wrong with British commercial life today. There's no reason whasever why you shouldn't move to another job for more money, but perhaps your own words should be here, so people appreciate the context.

What you actually said (and what prompted my response)was:

"You turn up for your shift, do your work and get paid. You owe your employer nothing else! If something better comes along you jump ship as I have done, I handed in my notice with a huge big smile on my face. The boss wasn't too happy, but tough, as I'm leaving him even more short staffed, I don't care."