Ideal for beginner - of course they are not

pj123 17:50 23 Jun 2006

I have seen many Ads offering 6 or 7 year old computers for sale. They all seem to say "Ideal for beginner". Of course they are not ideal for a beginner. Why would they be.

If I was a beginner I would like to think I had the latest technology.

ade.h 17:58 23 Jun 2006

Certainly, a beginner should have XP for ease of use. I'm in the process of helping two PC novices with a similar lack of knowledge or a natural PC brain, and the results are quite different. My uncle has an old, donated piece of junk with Windows 95 - he and his wife are struggling by slowly. My neighbour, with his shiny new XP toy, is getting on just great. He used to have a Win98 machine and hardly ever used it simply because he couldn't.

Mr Mistoffelees 19:10 23 Jun 2006

As I see it, you should only buy a six or seven year old computer if that really is all you can afford.

justme 19:42 23 Jun 2006

While I agree with your thinking have you considered that a beginner may not want to spend a large sum of money on the off chance that they like computing or it is going to do what they want to do.

When you bought your first car did you buy the latest super duper model or an old banger? A cheap computer may not be the easiest to use or run the latest programs but it will allow them to get a taste of computing without spending a fortune.

wolfie3000 19:47 23 Jun 2006

I see no point in buying a pc thats 4 or 5 years old as it wont run anything.

If it has win 95 or 98 you would end up with more problems than if it was a new pc with win xp,

No updates, most modern software wouldnt run on it, it would be slow and upgrading in the end would cost more than the pc itself.

Buy new as it saves problems in the end.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 20:01 23 Jun 2006

6 year old PC ideal for a beginner NO.

However if all you need is to write a fwe letters and surf the net a little then it is ideal.

justme 20:04 23 Jun 2006