How embarassing - ebay phishing victim

silverous 11:10 15 Jul 2006

I work in IT. I know about phishing.

Yet I just fell victim to it.

I never get spam emails on my email address, I've been quite lucky like that. I also just yesterday listed something on ebay.

So when I received an email from [email protected] looking everything like a genuine ebay email which had a button that said 'respond now' I clicked it and logged in.

Unfortunately, too late, I noticed that the address was a .cz address.

I promptly changed both my ebay and paypal passwords.

Not sure how this guy got my email address to co-incide with me (rarely) selling stuff on ebay but it worked.

How embarrassing. Glad I noticed something was wrong and changed all passwords - someone who didn't know about IT might've just thought there was something up with ebay's site and left it at that and their paypal account would have been depleted somewhat or they'd have dodgy tradings going on in their name.

Perhaps I need some anti-phising software and to be a bit more alert from now on :(

SG Atlantis® 11:30 15 Jul 2006

No matter how real it looks, never log in to anything from email. Type the address yourself. No one should ask for sensitive info in email either.

silverous 12:27 15 Jul 2006

They didn't ask for sensitive information and it was a 'click here to respond' type link. I'll definitely be being a bit more careful in future...can't believe I fell for it. Was just the timing.. put something for sale one day and got the email the next.

SG Atlantis® 12:30 15 Jul 2006

doh!

spuds 12:49 15 Jul 2006

All sorts of funny things happen with email references to eBay and perhaps PayPal. Always pays to be double certain before going that extra mile!.