Freecycle

laurie53 10:43 28 Aug 2009

I am a regular user of Freecycle, as I know are many others on this forum, and not for the first time the gall of some people takes my breath away (for those who don’t know, Freecycle is a network of local groups where you offer perfectly good stuff, for which you no longer have a use, to save it going to landfill).

Earlier this week I offered a dishwasher in full working order and some of the replies wanted to know the model number, full spec, green credentials. Could I send a picture, could I deliver.

The person that actually took it was not happy that there was no hose (perished) or plug (cut off for removal).

In the past I have waited in for people who didn’t turn up, and one night stayed up until gone midnight waiting for someone who didn’t bother coming at all, or phoning.

I do sometimes wonder why I keep offering!

Cymro. 10:52 28 Aug 2009

I have no experience of Freecycle myself but is it not possible for you to lay-down some ground rules when you offer something. Say arrange a time for collection, or state the condition make model etc. of the item and state quite clearly that you will not tolerate any time wasters.

sunnystaines 11:07 28 Aug 2009

we use freecycle got good stuff of there but also had a load of rubbish.

good points picked up office 2007 some one already had a copy and good another with new laptop. recently picked up new unused office computer leather chair.

bad points items advertised as working get them home and they are duff, been used as a rubbish collection person.

then people collect stuff to sell on ebay which i think is wrong.

jack 12:11 28 Aug 2009

And so far have had good results-
Yes some folk don't turn up - but that is normal even with paid for ads.
I simply re offer with a mention of the no show- to shame them.
Forum member
You are mistaken in the Hotmail assumption
but the whole thing is run as a YAHOO GROUP
with can be E-mail or Web as you choose.

tein 14:06 28 Aug 2009