Einstein, you fraud you

zzzz999 06:01 23 Sep 2011

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/09/22/science-light-idUSL5E7KM4CW20110922

Seems something is faster than light. Add this to the discovery that expansion of the cosmos rather than slowing down (as you would expect with a big bang) has started to speed up again and modern physics has exciting, if startling, times ahead.

daz60 06:18 23 Sep 2011

No confirmation yet but why would Einstein be considered a fraud if 100 years later his theory proved incorrect.I am no scientist but his theory has stood up to scrutiny pretty well so far.

If proved true i certainly agree that it heralds a "quantum leap" and ,maybe,a paradigm change of immense proportions.

zzzz999 06:32 23 Sep 2011

I was being tongue in cheek with the 'Einstein you fraud' bit.

morddwyd 07:07 23 Sep 2011

So Alpha Centauri might only be a few neutrino minutes away, rather than four light years.

It's not just the world that is getting smaller!

Aitchbee 08:15 23 Sep 2011

Albert's famous equation Energy = mass x speed of light squared, might need an additional coefficent.The scientists, who have ran their experiment 15,000 times,will publish their findings for other scientists' independent interpretations.

Autoschediastic 08:47 23 Sep 2011

"Light would have covered the distance in around 2.4 thousandths of a second, but the neutrinos took 60 nanoseconds -- or 60 billionths of a second"

How do you start to imagine that kinda speed? its just mind boggling? i love stories like this, Doesn't Broadband work the same way?

johndrew 11:15 23 Sep 2011

"Doesn't Broadband work the same way?"

You wish!

Autoschediastic 12:07 23 Sep 2011

johndrew lol we can all wish! imagine that eh hyper speed BB more down to earth how about this Broadband speed eh! fastest in the world:

Fastest BB

Aitchbee 14:49 23 Sep 2011