Driscoll Jubilee strawberries

Graham. 12:56 23 Sep 2010

How can I grow my own, from seeds or plants? I'm looking for somewhere to buy whatever is needed.

PS. I'm not a proper gardener.

MAT ALAN 14:14 23 Sep 2010

click here=

"pick your own"

Graham. 17:21 23 Sep 2010

I'm looking for Driscoll Jubilee specifically, so far without success. If you've tasted them, in supermarkets now, you'd realise why.

Forum Editor 17:29 23 Sep 2010

this summer - we've tried all the supermarket varieties, and you're right, the best by far are Driscoll Jubilee, they beat all the others into a cocked hat.

Why not give the growers a call? You can get them on 01892 838800

Or

I happen to know that Raymond Blanc's all-time favourite strawberry is a variety called 'Marshmello', and if it's good enough for him.....

Graham. 17:38 23 Sep 2010

Can't find those either. I will call the growers tomorrow.

Forum Editor 17:53 23 Sep 2010

These people can probably supply you.

click here

morddwyd 20:11 23 Sep 2010

Thank you for this thread.

I have long bemoaned the fact that the modern large red supermarket strawberry tastes nothing like a real strawberry, any more than the large red tomatoes taste like tomatoes.

I shall keep an eye open for Driscoll jubilee.

When I lived in Cornwall we had a secret place where we could get a decent amount of wild strawberries.

They were no bigger than a little finger nail, but the intense strawberry flavour of a dozen or so of those, with farm fresh clotted cream, is a long lasting memory.

Bingalau 21:22 23 Sep 2010

morddwyd.