Could we cope with True Mirrors?

Brumas 23:10 04 Sep 2013
Answered

Seeing as there isn't much doing on the forum I thought I would put my serious hat on and put this on.

Ever since I studied physics, way back in the 60s at Riley Technical High School in Hull, I have had a thing about mirrors. We take the mirror image for granted as being a true depiction of what we see but, in reality it is a mirror image which is the complete opposite.

I have found this site which shows us what an true image would look like. Using an ordinary mirror or a true mirror for shaving, or ladies, for applying your makeup presents no problems but, finally getting to the point of all this, how would - or could your brain cope with having a true rearview mirror instead of a normal mirror in your car?

Looking in your rearview mirror the cars are actually driving on the wrong side of the road, something our brain sees and registers as being normal. Using a true mirror the cars would be seen to be travelling on the correct side of the road but would look strange as they would appear opposite in position to what we have been conditioned to accept as being normal - or have I got it all wrong??

Kev.Ifty 00:35 05 Sep 2013

Hey up Brumas

When I hold up a mirror to look in the shaving mirror to look at the back of my head and try to comb the last strands over the bold patch I get confused, left and right lol.

I have driven a few vehicles with reversing cameras. The first one it had a small view screen with a white line just meant to park the vehicle. That was ok. The other was a Toyota that had a display on the console. I looked over my shoulder more often then rely upon the cam thing.

Brumas I reckon my sweade would not cope lol

Brumas 09:18 05 Sep 2013

Kev.Ifty you'll have to buy a left-handed comb ;o}

hastelloy 09:51 05 Sep 2013

Looking in your rearview mirror the cars are actually driving on the wrong side of the road,

I don't think that can be right!