Careers in Journalism

blad1 10:12 29 May 2007

Hiya,

I know some people here work in the trade and I was just seeking some advice on gaining employment in Journalism (specifically tech/gaming related magazines). Currently I'm a Planning Consultant, I have a BA and I am soon to be taking an MA- in Town and Country Planning. The thing is, I'm really getting interested in Journalism, and I am intensely interested in videogames and videogame culture. So, a few questions really, what qualifications are generally needed for junior / assistant writers? What courses or methods can I take to gain the appropriate qualifications (any evening / open university courses)? What other activities can I take to improve my experience and make myself more attractive to employers (community involvement / blogging reviews)? Obviously this isn't going to happen overnight, I have just been thinking about it and I want to explore what steps I can take. Any advice gratefully received.

Kate B 10:43 29 May 2007

It's less about qualifications, though if you're a graduate I'd suggest you do a postgrad course: Cardiff is widely held to be among the best. It's more about luck, contacts and persistence.

I'd suggest you approach your local paper and offer to write for them on a freelance basis - suggest you do something like game reviews for them if they don't already do them. Ask if you can do work experience there, and at your local BBC radio station if there is one.

Publishing on the web is one thing, but what really counts is where your stuff is published. I suppose a really elegant blog would not count against you, but random bits of writing for websites that nobody's heard of won't help you. If you managed to get stuff on a mainstream website that would help.

Have a look at the NUJ website which should have some links worth reading.

BryanR 11:27 29 May 2007

"Publishing on the web is one thing, but what really counts is where your stuff is published."