Bread Tips

OTT_B 14:03 24 Jan 2010

It's been a while, but I decided to bake some bread today.

I gave up making the stuff a while ago because I could never get a result that I wanted. Using packet yeast always ended up doughy in the middle and not really rising properly, and using yeast that's reactivated the end result rises properly and looks fantastic, but tastes of yeast.

Does anyone have any tips on bread making, or recipes they'd like to share?

Am going to try baking again tomorrow!

(And no, I don't use a bread maker!)

peter99co 14:06 24 Jan 2010

Warm the flour in a microwave for a minute so it helps it rise when the yeast is added.

Pine Man 15:01 24 Jan 2010

I have been making my own bread for about 30 years and never had a failure.

3 lbs Strong white bread flour.
6 teaspoons of salt.
5 teaspoons Doves Farm Quick Yeast.
6 teaspoons sugar.
about one and a half pints of warm water.
3 fluid ounces of warm oil.

Add the sugar to the water and dissolve it.
Add the salt and yeast to the flour and mix well.
Add the water and oil to the flour, both at the same time (yes it looks a mess).
Mix together roughly with a fork or spoon, then turn out onto your worktop and kneed for 10 minutes adding flour if necessary until it doesn't stick to everything!

Divide into four lots and put in bread tins or make bloomers then put in a warm place (airing cupboard) until at least doubled in size. About an hour.

Preheat oven to 180C (fan oven) then bake for 30 minutes.

Keep one freeze three.

Good luck!

Pine Man 15:03 24 Jan 2010

.. I have tried it with wholemeal flour and it doesn't rise as well but half and half is ok!

Chegs ®™ 15:56 24 Jan 2010

Perfect timing for this post! :)