Bluetooth Mouse & Keyboard

dewskit 10:09 18 Dec 2007

Am I alone in finding these accessories more of a pain than a useful improvement?

Either can suddenly stop working, usually at a most inopportune moment.
Always seem to be bleating about Batteries being critical, and if the mouse disappears off the desk, one has to grovel on the floor looking for it - previously it could be retrieved by gently hauling in its' tail.
I'm just not convinced this is an 'improvement' what do others think?

interzone55 10:18 18 Dec 2007

I have no experience of "bluetooth" mice (sounds like something DEFRA would be interested in) but have long had standard RF wireless keyboards & mice.

I find the lack of tail a positive bonus, as it no longer gets tangled up with other wires on my desk. I still have a standard wired mouse at work and it's always getting knotted up with my telephone headset wires.

I not sure of the benefits of wireless keyboards, seems like a total waste, because it's not like you move them around so much that the wire gets in the way.

I now use a laptop at home, so I just have a MS wireless optical mouse, I've had it for about 6 months now and not had to replace the batteries yet.

wolfie3000 10:51 18 Dec 2007

I have a bluetooth mouse and keyboard click here and found when i set it up at first the logitech software crashed on me all the time but after i reinstalled Windows and used the latest drivers it worked fantastic.

As for the mouse and keyboard itself iv never had a problem, i like the idea that i dont have extra wires trailing about on my desk,

Plus having a keyboard without wires means i can quickly move it from my desktop when im cleaning.

The only problem i have really is the keyboard needs new batteries every few months,

Apart from that i love them both.

interzone55 11:01 18 Dec 2007

As a gamer do you find that Bluetooth mice are more or less responsive than their wired brethren?