Any electricians out there?

Mike D 12:06 07 Dec 2009

I have a consumer unit which takes fuse cartridges as opposed to fuse wire. I am having great difficulty in getting spare fuses for this unit. I know that at some time I need to replace the consumer unit, but finances do not permit the full job at present. I have seen (in my local Wickes store) Micro switches, similar to circuit breaker type switches, which are being sold as a low cost upgrade to consumer units with fuse wire type breakers. Would I be able to use these in my unit (using the correct ampage, obviously)?

octal 13:32 07 Dec 2009

Yes, that's exactly what I did with my consumer unit. You are just changing the carrier so they should just directly plug in. I am an electrician, but you don't need to be an electrician to do that obviously.

Mike D 13:53 07 Dec 2009

Thanks for the reassurance. I thought it would be Ok, but no-one at Wickes was able or willing to clarify the point.
Mike

peter99co 14:09 07 Dec 2009

no-one at Wickes was able or willing to clarify the point.

They only sell things. Probably not allowed to tell you in case they give wrong information.

Spark6 14:33 07 Dec 2009

Depending on the design of your consumer unit it is possible that the cover of the unit will not fit over the replacement carriers. This is normally not a problem when the unit is tucked away out of sight.

Take one of your fuse carriers to the Wickes store to be able to compare physical size.

Spark6 14:33 07 Dec 2009

Depending on the design of your consumer unit it is possible that the cover of the unit will not fit over the replacement carriers. This is normally not a problem when the unit is tucked away out of sight.

Take one of your fuse carriers to the Wickes store to be able to compare physical size.

Mike D 17:54 07 Dec 2009

Thanks Spark6, this is something I'll neeed to look at.
Mike

al's left peg 18:58 07 Dec 2009

I got the wylex type mini breakers from Screwfix
click here