4G in the News

Chegs ®™ 04:12 06 May 2012

On the local news yesterday was a story about 4G service being trialled in Threlkeld(small village near Keswick)Whilst watching the report with interest,I did a quick search for 4G handsets and to my dismay,no 4G handsets can be purchased anywhere in the UK yet.So I'm wondering where the villagers will obtain their 4G equipment,will the Provider supply the equipment perhaps?

The reporter did say that the 4G service is unlikely to be rolled out until 3G had recouped more of the initial investment,but that eventually 4G will be as widely available as the present 3G(apparently,98% of the UK can use 3G)

I'm really looking forwards to 4G becoming widespread as my present wired connection is so unreliable,but I doubt I'll be an early adopter as I'll be unable to afford the equipment/service for quite some time.

daz60 07:44 06 May 2012

I am no expert in this,or anything else, but this article suggests that it is not "true" 4G and that really it is just that the goalposts have been moved,definition wise.Still it will certainly benefit outlying areas left in the doldrums for so long.

LTE WIMAX 3g HSDPA

morddwyd 10:50 06 May 2012

You've obviously missed this.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2012/may/02/asa-forces-apple-withdraw-claims-ipad-4g?newsfeed=true

It would appear that 4G, as the rest of the world understands it, will not appear in the UK.

As usual we will end up with our own, probably inferior, system.

Chegs ®™ 13:00 06 May 2012

I read that article after I posted this thread daz60.

morddwyd:

I dont read National Newspapers,I'm a proud Cumbrian & only interested in local events.