24 Hour Shopping

spuds 12:00 31 Jan 2009

Its only within the last few years that the UK as got into the 24 hour shopping routine, but is it really necessary.

There as been quite a number of supermarkets who converted to the 24 hour system, and other stores and shops have perhaps extended the opening hours to possibly 8/10 pm closing on certain days. But in the city that I live, the staff of some of these places are stating that they are 'very bored', because no customers are flocking to their places of employment, in these 'unsociable hours'. The various employees, some of whom have only been recently employed, want the shopping malls etc to revert possibly back to the 9 to 5 trading system.

Whats your views?.

wee eddie 12:08 31 Jan 2009

Like being able to Shop at other times.

As a Back-Shift Taxi Driver, I like being able to drop into Tesco at 3.30am and get a sandwich or wee soft drink.

GANDALF <|:-)> 12:09 31 Jan 2009

'revert possibly back to the 9 to 5 trading system' as 'most' people work between these time and as they have the spending power, this would be a step backwards. It would be better to have opening hours as 1300-2100. It would make no difference to the jobless what time the shops were open but it would make a difference to ones in work.

G

tullie 12:11 31 Jan 2009

P0eople work 24/7.why not retailers.

birdface 12:15 31 Jan 2009