XP vs Vista

NotVeryTechie 16:23 13 Feb 2008

Hi there

Hope this question is not too Absolute Begginer! What is the real difference between XP and Windows. Let's say I have a copy of Access 2000 or FileMaker Pro 5. And let's say I can get it to run on XP, would I be able to make it run on Vista? What about a game like Caesar III?

If I rather want to stay with XP will that cause major problems in future?

If I load XP on my computer (laptop) and later want to get an external drive and put Vista on it and choose to boot from either, would I be able to do that?

Hope you can help!

Pamy 17:27 13 Feb 2008

I would read the posts in Windows Vista. next bellow Absolute Beginners to get some idea of what people think and what problems they have

Kemistri 17:30 13 Feb 2008

[1] Unlikely.
[2] Not for a long time.
[3] Yes, if the BIOS supports external boot devices.

NotVeryTechie 17:32 13 Feb 2008

I had a quick look through there and I don't even understand most of the questions, let alone the answers. I am just looking for really basic stuff.

NotVeryTechie 17:35 13 Feb 2008

Thanks Kemistri - on number three - would that depend on the make of the computer? How could I find out if it supports external boot devices?

Forum Editor 17:41 13 Feb 2008

1. Before migrating to Windows Vista it will be best to check with the relevant software companies about program compatibility. The information should be on their websites.

2. As time goes on software writers will cease to write programs which will run in Windows XP, but as Kemistri has already said, it will be a long time before that happens - you'll have made the move before then.

3. Kemistri's answer is the right one. Check with your laptop maker to find out if the BIOS supports external boot devices.

tobyjug472002 13:48 14 Feb 2008

Personally i much prefer XP, i think that maybe Vista will be more appealing when Microsoft launch a Service Pack.