xp usb problems

jammin 09:48 23 Mar 2005

somebody help
I've just bought a new pc - I thought it was the end of my problems. The pcs great, dell 5000, but I am new to XP and I thought connecting devices would be a piece of cake. I struggled desperately to get my printer to connect - usb connection and I have been struggling unsuccesfully to get my scanner to work - canonscan lide 30(1240u). I've reloaded software several times, downloaded new drivers - but no luck. The error message now states no connection make sure cable is plugged in. Everything else shows as OK in system and the scanner is shown in device manager and says all is OK, but it doesnt work.
Is XP always such hard work?

conrail 10:03 23 Mar 2005

I asume you installed the drivers before plugging the printer/scanner in. I always install the latest drivers, not the supplied ones, restart then plug in the printer/scanner and no problems, hope that helps

conrail 10:05 23 Mar 2005

sorry, should have mentioned, when plugging in the printer/scanner, a balloon will pop up on the taskbar near the clock saying new hardware installed, click on that and the install wizard will open, just point it to where you have the drivers installed

LAP 10:11 23 Mar 2005

In Device manager have you looked at/in your USB controllers and see if there are any ? or ! or anything else beside any of them. Worth a look.

ventanas 10:15 23 Mar 2005