XP service pack 3 BSOD

smy13 20:59 14 Apr 2008

click here

Hi all
I've loaded XP SP3 and it's put my pc into a BSOD loop, I've tracked the problem down and seem to have found a solution - However it's way over my head. I've never used the recovery console before and the instructions it gives I can't follow or get to work. Is there a bright spark out there that can translate it into a blow by blow account of how to enter the instructions it to the command line. As my system dual boots Linux I've tried to access the necessary windows files from inside my Linux OS. unfortunately this does not work I can see the files but can't cut or paste into the windows directories so the above link looks like the only thing between me and a fresh installation

any help gratefully received

MCE2K5 21:36 14 Apr 2008
  smy13 21:52 14 Apr 2008

if anyone else if having the same problem and is new to DOS and the recovery console the the above link does work but you need to enter the command into the command line exactly as I've written it below (but as one long command)
Hope this is helpful to others in the same predicament
Copy c:\windows\servicepackfiles\i386\gdi32.dll c:\windows\system32\gdi32.dll.

slimepit 22:04 14 Apr 2008

Sorry if I seem thick but how do I get to a command prompt when the pc won't start?

MCE2K5 22:08 14 Apr 2008

Boot into DOS click here

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 22:12 14 Apr 2008

Set BIOS to boot CD as first boot device
1. Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.

2. When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.