Xp and publishing to my website.

Derek 08:08 18 Dec 2003

Looked hard in the XP help and support but find it cannot assist so......can you assist or direct me.

I'm a webmaster and want to update our charity organisation website. Done all the work as usual in MS Publisher, saved it correctly and got it ready for sending it to the server. But I can't.

I used to have Win ME and all things were easy and did it all regularly, but I've moved up to XP Pro and I'm having trouble.
Got in touch with the help department of MS Publisher and the 'helper' told me what to do but it dosn't work ! Got back to him and he advised getting in touch with the help department of XP, but I find it a minefield.

I get to a stage where XP says to me "on the left side of the window,under Files and Folders, click on Publish This Folder to the Web" and this I do.

Then it tells me to follow the steps for the "Web Publishing Wizard". This I do and finish up with one option and that is to publish to "MSN Groups".

I don' t want to do any such thing since I want to publish to my server or whatever he's/its called.

Please offer advice or direct me to an MS help site.

Kindest regards DM

Forum Editor 08:22 18 Dec 2003

with this problem in our WebDesign forum, and I'll move your thread there now.

Derek 08:37 18 Dec 2003

Thank you Forum Editor for the very prompt reply.
Sorry to burdon you but how do I get to where this WebDesign forum is please.

Forum Editor 08:38 18 Dec 2003

it's obvious that you've published this site from MS Publisher before. Installing Windows XP shouldn't have any effect on the way that Publisher works - the publishing method should be the same as it was. It isn't WinXP that's telling you "on the left side of the window ....etc" it's Publisher.