XP Pro CDs for Laptop

chislett 16:31 28 Jul 2007

I've inherited a laptop, running xp pro sp2 but without any recovery disks and no real way of asking if any exist. All methods of recreating I've come across need an i386 folder with the installation files, but this doesn't exist and registry points to a folder which also doesn't exist. Any ideas? I'm not that technical!

howard64 17:11 28 Jul 2007

it could be that these folders are hidden.

Strawballs 18:05 28 Jul 2007

What make and model is said laptop?

chislett 12:27 29 Jul 2007

Thanks to Howard, but files aren't hidden. Laptop is compaq, EvoN105v

Taff™ 06:42 30 Jul 2007

One of my customers has an Evo N1050V - is that the one?

If so it originally came with two Compaq restore disks and a copy of XP Pro (SP1) plus the usual documentation disks. I did a factory settings reinstall on it last week which involved adding SP2 from a disk supplied by PCA many years ago. Then there were 106 cumulative critical updates! I am pretty sure there isn`t a hidden partition and you probably need to update a few of the drivers from the HP site. There`s also a full service manual available for it.

skidzy 06:52 30 Jul 2007

Buy Acronis,probably the best backup you will ever need.
Acronis TI 10 click here

chislett 20:05 30 Jul 2007

Taff - it is the 1050v. There may have been disks but I can't ask for them to be looked for because of the circs in which I inherited it, so I'm totally on my own.

Skidzy - I have a full backup, but if the disks crashed I'd still need to boot from something. Thanks for the input.

skidzy 20:27 30 Jul 2007

With Acronis TI 10 you can create a clone of the harddrive,so if the current drive failed you...all it would mean is to buy a new drive and insert your cloned image.

Maybe of help click here

There is a uk site that sells recovery discs,but for the life of me,i cannot find it.

Strawballs 21:14 30 Jul 2007