At wits end corner - advice needed please

tinacee1 16:51 20 Mar 2010

Hiya - I have spent the day searching the internet for information about my new Toshiba laptop which I purchased last night from Tesco. A Toshiba L500-1XC, which I got a good deal with (£100 off recommended price).
I am completely new to laptops as I have been using my desktop pc for 8 years - I decided that it's life was coming to an end as it kept crashing and that I would buy a laptop. I managed to set it all up until problems arose when trying to connect to O2 mobile broadband. spent ages on the phone to O2 about installing on new laptop. Discovered that I have to have a 'patch' sent by O2 in the form of a software disc as the connection manager tool can't accomodate Windows 7 which is pre-installed on the new laptop.I have decided to buy a dongle from another mobile internet provider to get around this problem (I see a better deal with '3' network anyway.

What I am trying to find out is if there is anywhere that I can download information about how to get my head around this new laptop (i.e. user guides or the like) The user manual which came with the laptop is basic.

Also is there a beginners guide to using Windows 7 - I am so used to Windows XP and this new Windows 7 is so different and I am finding it very complicated. I would appreciate any advice from forum users out there. I am off to take a few paracetamol tablets now as I have given myself a corker of a headache trying to find information. The Toshiba website (Europe) is of no help and keeps freezing up when I try to access their 'user forum' - so I'm at a loss as to where to turn about this.

Thanks for reading this long drawn out post.

bremner 16:58 20 Mar 2010

Dummies are usually good for beginners click here

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 17:07 20 Mar 2010
  Pineman100 17:07 20 Mar 2010

Here's a website with a very comprehensive list of tutorials on every aspect of Windows 7:
click here