wireless router security

0000jb0000 16:42 08 Jul 2006

Have had a computer running windows xp and m cafee internet suite for sometime. I have now got an Acer travelmate wireless laptop so installed the same Mcafee suite on that as well. I have the US robotics router to connect to the internet. Do I have to configure the security system on the router as well cos it is very confusing (i'm quite new to all this). Can nasties get in and see my details when i'm surfing even though i have the other mcafee stuff?

ade.h 17:11 08 Jul 2006

Lots of discussions about network security click here

Taff™ 17:15 08 Jul 2006

The router probably has a Firewall built into it as well so you`re likely to be well protected. Which model is it exactly? You need to set up some encryption on the router WEP or WPA - Have you done that already?

The chances of someone trying to hack into your system are pretty remote anyway. post back and we`ll take it from there.

0000jb0000 17:58 08 Jul 2006

Its the wep and wpa that confuses me. The instructions are for those who understand the terminology!!! Where do i find the ip address and ssid thingy. When you dont understand the abbreviations its hard to follow. Its a US robotic 5461 and has a firewall.

ade.h 18:01 08 Jul 2006

You should use WPA-PSK.

Can you post a link to the manual, please? (Not a direct download link though, for obvious reasons). I'll have a quick look and get back to you.

Taff™ 18:05 08 Jul 2006

If you can connect to the internet from the laptop. click here An automated help assistant.

If not post back and I`ll copy the instructions for you.

Taff™ 18:21 08 Jul 2006

Manuals Link click here Might be away for a couple of hours. ade.h - you`re in charge!

ade.h 18:47 08 Jul 2006

click here for the security config instructions (you will need javascript enabled to see this page).