Wireless Router Help (Newbie)

Widdy1961 14:40 28 Jan 2008

Hi

Firstly I am a complete novice when it comes to Routers etc, so I apologise if my question sounds stupid but.........

I have been offered a Micronet SP916GK wireless router and a Micronet SP907GK Wireless LAN USB Adapter and wondered if this would work with my current Modem which is a pci BB Modem (Alcatel Speedtouch)

I have a Compaq Presario PC which has Ethernet ports and I believe a LAN/WAN card fitted.

Got to sayy that it's all quite confusing but do I need anything else?

I was going to buy a USB Modem/Router but I hate USB modems after having lots of problems with them, plus the Micronet Router I can get for £5

Thanks
Widdy1961

ambra4 16:28 28 Jan 2008

Alcatel Speed Touch USB ADSL Modem is for a stand alone computer to connect to the Internet via your ISP it cannot be used with a wireless router

You have to purchase an ADSL broadband modem with an Ethernet port to use the Micronet SP916GK wireless router

Linksys ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem

click here

D-Link ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem

click here

Widdy1961 18:15 28 Jan 2008

Hi ambra4

Thanks for the info.

I have just ordered the D-Link Ethernet Modem, is this all I need to go wireless (including the router of course) and what is ADSL2+ ?

Sorry for sounding thick.

Widdy1961

ambra4 22:43 28 Jan 2008

Yes you only need the modem + router and you should be able to access the broadband

You will also have to set up the LAN card to access the router check this posting on the correct set up for the LAN card and the network

click here

What ADSL2+ does is basically double the capacity of ADSL so speeds of 24mb are available for downloading and a possible 3.5mb to upload with!

Again, like broadband already these speeds are dependent on the distance a user is from the exchange

Widdy1961 23:08 28 Jan 2008

ambra4

A million thanks for the help, looking forward to the modem arriving and hopefully will be up and running by the end of this week.