wireless printing

baja31 10:14 20 Jun 2007

i'm a newbie here and having problems connecting my wireless printer to run from my (kids)laptops its hooked up thru the desktop via usb but i just cant seem to get it to connect to the wireless with the same wpa key as the laptops
its a brother dcp-340cw

i have a netgear router hooked up to desktop
also wireless to 2 laptops dell latitude which all work fine its just the printer i'm having problems with
i'm following the manual
menu
press
3.lan
3.set up wlan
1. set up wizard then it does a search for ssid etc
gives options for ad-hoc or infrastructure (which i pick)
then put the long key in then it says apply i click yes th connection error comes up
please someone tell me i'm doing something obviously stupid
and help me with it plzzz
many thanks

FreeCell 18:59 20 Jun 2007

Does it connect with other security settings?(security disabled or WEP) Is problem only WPA related?

Have known other network problems where implementation of WPA seems slightly different in some hardware. HAd problem with new Vista laptop and SpeedTouch router working with WPA that was only resolved by upgrading firmware of router. Win XP laptops all worked fine with older firmware.

FreeCell 19:01 20 Jun 2007

Another thought. Have you tried connecting the printer to the router using a network cable. All PCs connecting to the router should then be able to print. (Suppose it depends on physical location of all relevant boxes)

baja31 21:01 20 Jun 2007

yes it connects via wep but i've changed my security settings to wpa printer instructions say its wpa compatible, no i haven't tried connecting through the router directly wasn't sure if that could be done what would i need?? would it be an ethernet cable?? also is it easier that way

FreeCell 09:39 21 Jun 2007

Yep, just an ethernet cable printer network port to ethernet port on your router. Have my printer connected this way and have no problems printing from any PC on the network.