Wireless Internet

Ian R 15:01 24 May 2004

Help,
I have connected to a neighbours wireless internet network and he has allowed my wireless network card the permissions and encryption keys to use his ADSL router. The problem is I do not know how to access the web. I can see his network and it appears to have a good signal strength. Every time I press the Internet explorer icon, it fires up my dial up 56k modem. How do I connect to the ADSL internet network? Do I have to set up a connection of some kind? I have tried to use the XP internet connection wizard but to no avail. Can some one help (Please in laymans terms as I am a novice)
Many Thanks........Ian

TomJerry 15:07 24 May 2004

You need to run network setup wizard to select "Connect to Internet Through Lan (Local Area Network".

You can try this first: Creat a new account and log into this new account and click IE then network setup wizard will come up. (Sorry do not remmeber how to start wizard for an old account, this is why I advice you to try from a new account.)

Epocs 15:08 24 May 2004

Have you tired going to tools, internet options and somewhere on one of the tabs there will be an option when to dial your connection. If you haven't, try setting it to 'Never Dial A Connection', this should stop explorer from using your modem. If when you re-start explorer you get the normal page for when you are not connected, page cannot be found or something similar then there is a configuration problem. Does this connection appear in your internet connections folder?

TomJerry 15:18 24 May 2004

(1) Follows Epocs and click never dial bla bla

(2) "Start" "Setting" "Network and DialUp Connections" click "New Connection" and thenWizard will come up.

Ian R 16:24 24 May 2004

Many thanks TomJerry & Epocs for your help.
However when the dial up has been disabled I get the "normal page for when you are not connected, page cannot be found" Thus I must have a Configuration Problem as you suggested.