Wireless Device Gone!

duartexas 15:52 10 Dec 2007

Hi guys.

I'm not a computer expert so I really can't tell much details, but I have a compaq presario F500 series laptop which also has wifi enabled. I'm running Windows Vista.

The wireless device was working always well. This device has 2 color led light; one red meaning is disconnected and another blue meaning the opposite or connected. I can use the switch to turn on or off the wireless device.

Since a month or so, the wireless device start to show as red or disconnected and even if I would turn the switch on or off it would not make a difference. So I went to Device Manager to see if the wireless needed a drive update. For my surprise I couldn't find the wireless device in there in the network part as installed which is strange since I have never unistall it. So my first thought was to get the drive again and install it. I found the drive on the HP website and tried to install, but after run it on my laptop it won't install, and I don't know why.

So my wireless device is not working, driver is not installed and can't be installed. I tried to do a recorvery of all devices as from it's original factory settings and still not work. I would try a full recorvery, but I have so many important things set up that I really do not want to go back again, plus I have no guarantee that it will fix this network problem since I have had one once with my ethernet device and the full recorvery haven't fix it.

This is a very frustating sittuation and I can't resolve it and find why has happened and how to fix it. Any help would be appreciated it.

Kemistri 17:08 10 Dec 2007

Not the only possibility, but.... maybe the adapter has died and it's a warranty job.

duartexas 17:57 10 Dec 2007

Well I still on the warranty but before I lose all my data and have no laptop for the next 2 months (since these warranty jobs take forever) can anyone tell me of other things I can do or check before I surrender and call HP for help?