wireless connections

alibob1526 18:11 17 Jan 2010

I have a Dell dimension 2400 desktop & have bought a new Medion Akoya X7330 desktop which is running Windows 7. The Dell has Windows XP professional installed. I would like to connect the Dell to the Medion via a BT Voyager 1055 adapter wirelessly, I am with Tiscali,changing to Talk Talk shortly. Is this possible to connect the two desktops wirelessly. Any advice would be much appreceiated, Thank You. Complete novice.

mgmcc 23:05 17 Jan 2010

If the two computers are already connecting "wirelessly" to a router for their internet access, then they are already "networked" and can share folders and/or printers.

Set the folders that you want to have available over the network as "shared" by right clicking them and selecting the Sharing option. In Windows 7 you'll need to set the "permissions" and the simplest way of doing this is to give "everyone" both read and write permission.

Forum Editor 23:44 17 Jan 2010

is to give "everyone" both read and write permission."

It may be simple, but it can be dangerous. If you're using a wireless network, giving 'everyone'read and write permission means that you're effectively opening your files to anyone who gets access to your network.

alibob1526 16:22 18 Jan 2010

Thank you for your reply, but at the moment only the Medion computer is up and running. The Dell is not set up yet. Can I set up the Dell, (plug it into the mains etc.) then connect the two by sticking the wireless adapter into one or the other, sorry I don't know enough about computers to know how wireless connections work.

mgmcc 22:42 18 Jan 2010

To connect two computers "wirelessly" for File & Printer Sharing, *both* must have a Wireless Network Adapter installed. Then there are two ways in which they can be connected:

1) If you have a Wireless Router, connect both computers to the router. This will provide their internet access and they will also be "networked", i.e. connected to each other via the router.