Wireless Access Point

arnisonmedia 12:10 17 Jan 2006

I am running a dlink dsl g604t Wireless router which is wired direct into my main PC using one of the four ports on the back.

I also have an acer laptop with built in Wireless working fine.

I am a computer engineer and have put a workbench on the other side of the room to give me plenty of space to do builds and repairs.

I could just plug a USB dongle into each machine to get them to access the internet but this means installing and removing software when finished.

Can I purchase a wireless access point to put on that side of the room and then use the 4 wired ports instead as I would just need to plug the lead in and the machines would be on the net without the need of adding software.

Is that how an access point works?

Many Thanks

igk 14:12 17 Jan 2006

""I am a computer engineer""
And you need to ask this ""Is that how an access point works?""
your avin a laugh mate..

arnisonmedia 14:20 17 Jan 2006

Was there really any need for that, I run a small business and help to repair faults on PC's for home users, whilst you may not see that as being knowledgeable enough to call yourself a "PC Engineer" what else would you call it. I am ok with networking also but am very new to wireless and asked the question to make sure I was heading along the right line.

Instead of critisising and ridiculing people for not having the same experience as you how about you try to help them or is that beyond you.

Forum Editor 14:51 17 Jan 2006

to site your existing router on the bench? Then you could simply connect PCs to it via the LAN ports on the back.

Your 'main' PC could access the router via a wireless PCI adapter.

Alternatively, if you can't move the router why don't you just run an ethernet cable from one of the LAN ports to a socket box on the bench? Then you could plug computers into that. Running a cable wouldn't take long, and you would save the cost of buying any more hardware.

igk 15:45 17 Jan 2006