windowsxphotfix and sp2

patso 20:38 25 Oct 2004

i have posted on this site before about not being able to install sp2 off the disc and am wondering if windowsxp hotfix-kb823980 which i installed on my pc from a disc i got a lend of would be causing conflicts with the install.when i tried to remove it a pop up has a list of every programme on my pc and says they might not work properly.what should i do.any help thanks

Night Ryder 21:16 25 Oct 2004

I had a similar problem with SP2 in that it wouldn't install from the disk. What I did was to create a directory on my hard drive and copy the whole CD to it. I then removed the CD from the drive and proceeded to install SP2 from the directory. SP2 then installed OK and when finished I deleted the directory. Worked for me. Perhaps worth a try?

patso 21:37 25 Oct 2004

thanks.im a complete beginner how do i create this directory and copy the disc and install can you explain word for word please.thanks again

Night Ryder 22:18 25 Oct 2004